The last several weeks we have enjoyed watching several films and documentaries about Africa and specifically Ethiopia.  We just finished one produced by National Geographic.  It was really fascinating.  Ethiopia is such a beautiful country, with a beautiful people and an interesting culture.  Religion and music have both continued to be a big part of its history and those two aspects are very integral to who I am today.  I thought it was fitting that the segment on Ethiopia was titled “Mountains of Faith” because the title is also in many ways reflective of our own life experience.  We have always sought to simply be people who walk forward in faith no matter the circumstances and to know that our hearts have been drawn to a country described as mountains of faith is powerful to me.  Scripture comes to mind…from Matthew 17…Jesus says, “I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move.  Nothing will be impossible for you.”

I have a picture in my office at church of Jesus holding a mustard seed.  I look at it fairly often.  Now, there is even more depth of significance to me.  Where ‘family’ initially seemed impossible (at least according to our previous expectations), now we are witnesses to mountains being moved.  And it begins with even the smallest seed of faith.

Click on the flag if you want to read more information about Ethiopia via National Geographic…


Wherever you are…whatever you are doing…may you walk forward in faith!

–Mike

