This song by Leeland and Brandon Heath both scares and inspires me at the same time.  God calls us to follow Him into the broken places of this world. He calls us to care for the least, the last, the poor, and the needy.  If we have already chosen to live out His way of life in this world it’s not really a choice of whether or not to answer this call.  In order for our hearts to beat more like His we must be ready to follow His lead into uncomfortable, even unsettling places.  Sometimes it is uncomfortable simply because we haven’t spent very much time there.  But many times it is unsettling because of how we come face to face with the brutally honest reflection of our own self-absorbed way of living compared to the self-emptying way of Jesus.

There are moments when I feel like I’m able to embody this song, but too often I’m hesitant and miss opportunities to be Jesus’ hands and feet to others–even in my own backyard.  I’m hesitant because I know where His way of living will lead and I’m not sure I’m ready.

But I want to be.

And so I pray that God will continue to grow me and show me what it looks like to follow Him…to care less about self and more about living for others.

Where is the way of Jesus leading you?

